Wire Shoplight to plug in

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-11, 10:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Wire Shoplight to plug in

Newbie to the forums. I know alot about electrical, the basics, etc. But I am stumped on this.

I have an 8ft T8 fluorescent fixture that is mounted on a ceiling, to be plugged in to a regular ground level switched outlet about 15ft away.

I read online, stranded cord can't be used as permenant. TRUE? Well, chandeliers and many other things cords are stranded, so I am kinda not sure about that. I am kinda ignoring that rule right now.

I was going to wire romex to the light, and run it to the outlet, with a plug on the end. But thats against code too, which I can understand.

Cut the end of an extension cord off and wire it on. It would work beatifully especially for length, but thats against code.


My solution was to get one of those 8ft replacement cords for tools, but its not long enough. I really wanted something to wire up and plug right in.

I know they sell zip cord (lamp cord), that I could get the length I need and put a plug on it, but I need something grounded.

Could someone help? Recommend? It has to be from HomeDepot.

I need a grounded cord that I can customize length, wire to the shoplight, and put a grounded plug on to safely plug into a switched outlet.

What kind of wire should I use?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-11, 10:37 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
No electrician...but if it will be plugged in...thats probably not considered permanent even though it may be plugged in for years. Look at a garage door opener....

You will need to use the right sort of cable which you can buy by the foot at HD. You will also need the right kind of clamp at the fixture end.

There may be limits on length but I've seen plenty of garages and such that have a series of switched outlets on the ceiling and every light is plugged in with maybe a 2' cord, not hardwired.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-11, 10:38 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Oh....and the Pro's should be around soon....Sundays are always slow...
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-11, 11:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
16-3 SOJ cord should work but it probably violates manufacturers suggested installation and might not be approved by some inspectors. Why can't you hard wire it?

Zip cord usually does not have a ground and most fluorescent fixtures work best when grounded.

Above assumes inside of fixture is approved as a connection box. Some newer cheaper electronic fixtures may just have 3 leads coming out and may not have an approved space for connections.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-11, 11:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,079
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
I read online, stranded cord can't be used as permenant. TRUE? Well, chandeliers and many other things cords are stranded, so I am kinda not sure about that. I am kinda ignoring that rule right now.
Correct. Wiring that is part of fixtures etc come under a different set of rules.



I was going to wire romex to the light, and run it to the outlet, with a plug on the end. But thats against code too, which I can understand.
Correct

Cut the end of an extension cord off and wire it on. It would work beatifully especially for length, but thats against code.
Correct



Temporary usage for flex cords that are not part of appliances is limited to 90 days by the code definition of temporary.

Flex cord cannot be used as a substiute for the fixed premise wiring.

The correct option is to install a receptacle closer to the point of need using a recognized wiring method.
 
  #6  
Old 08-21-11, 01:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I cannot hardwire it as there is no circuits to tie into, and the panel is already overstuffed. This light is going to light an area that use to be lit with multiple floor lamps, and I would just like to be able to plug it in. It is meant to be hardwired, as it is a 4 lamp T8 striplight, but I have seen them converted to plug in, but in ways I would not dream of and not want to mention Thats why I am seeking some "pro" advice thats safe and usable.

I have no access(well, I do but not easily) to the attic to install a closer receptical. Hardwire is not an option.
The light will be switched from the receptical. Also I have 2 pullchains on there, to seperate the banks of light.

SOJ 16-3 cord with a grounded plug on there would work?

Picture below of plan.......

[IMG][/IMG]
 
  #7  
Old 08-21-11, 03:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You may be able to convert your switched receptacle to always on and run a new cable from the light to that receptacle. Do you have an unfinished attic above? How hard is the access? If not you can still do it with only minor Sheetrock repair or by using surface race such as Wiremold.

SOJ 16-3 cord with a grounded plug on there would work?
Yes but we try to give you the plans A and B before we discuss C. What is the distance from the end of the light to the wall with the receptacle? I really think a better option then SOJ is surface race. Once painted to match ceiling and wall less visually intrusive then SOJ.
 
  #8  
Old 08-21-11, 05:00 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,079
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
I agree with Ray, surface mount raceway from an extension box would be the most compliant method.

Side note, under the new NEC the receptacle would be required to be GFI protected.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-11, 05:55 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I looked up wiremold/surface raceway, and it is over the budget for such a little thing once I add every part needed up, along with having to mount it, and spend extra for a GFCI.
Not to mention, I am lazy. But not with the saftey part, only the "looks" of the job. Everything is grounded, and wired correctly. Romex clamp on the end of the light also.

I got SJOOW cord (15ft cut to length) which was all I could find for 14/3 or 16/3 stranded copper wire. (They sold it $0.48 a foot)
250 ft. Black Reel 16/3 Portable Power SJOOW Cord-282-1203G1 at The Home Depot

And a grounded plug.
15-Amp Black Straight Blade Grounding Plug-R50-48648-00E at The Home Depot

It works perfectly. I really didn't care about the color. Black is fine. It is just hanging down (kinda clamped) to the wall. The attic is accesible, but it is really small and hard to move around in, with me having know clue where I am going. The "wire job" only costed about $15.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: