Problems wiring light Fixture!!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-30-12, 11:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problems wiring light Fixture!!!



May I first say I new hear and may I say thanks for any advice.
I am having trouble wiring this for a light fixture. If I put all white together and hit the switch it blows a fuse in the basement with a buzzing sound. I am so confused. Pictures might help a little.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-30-12, 11:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 01-31-12, 04:49 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Welcome to the forums! I know you have already heard this, but how was it wired originally?? You have a cell phone and didn't take a picture of it, right? OK, to basics. Most likely one of the white wires is really part of a switch loop and is not considered a "neutral". With the power off, pull the switch from the wall and see if there is a black and white wire attached to the switch. If so, you will need to, via multimeter, determine which of the wires in the fixture box matches. Where the wires are taped together, remove the tape and replace it with a proper wire nut. Seems as this was 1950's wiring. With all the wires, does this feed another light or receptacle??
 
  #4  
Old 01-31-12, 08:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The white wire that is in the top left hand corner of the picture is the switch white wire. It only feeds one light in the bathroom. I will cap the other black wires. Whats next? By the way my dad does not remember how it was wired.
 

Last edited by matrona4146; 01-31-12 at 08:56 AM. Reason: Edit
  #5  
Old 01-31-12, 09:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please tell us the color wires on the switch . Are you saying it has a black and white wire?

If the switch has a white wire that white wire needs to be connected to the black hot wires ti the light. The black wire from the switch needs to be connected only to the light. I would not be a part of the bundle of black wires.

Here is a basic switch loop.



Here is what your switch loop would look like.

 
  #6  
Old 01-31-12, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks like to me it is a gray and black wire.
http://i1049.photobucket.com/albums/...a/P1010237.jpg

Just so you know there is also an outlet in the bathroom. The switch does not control it.
 

Last edited by matrona4146; 01-31-12 at 09:31 AM. Reason: Outlet
  #7  
Old 01-31-12, 11:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It looks like to me it is a gray and black wire.
I see black and white in your photo of the switch. So follow my instructions in the previous post. Warning: You must be sure what wires are from the switch. To do that, turn off breaker, mark all wires so they can be reconnected the same way and disconnect all the wires. Turn the switch on (breaker still off) and using a multimeter determine which cable has continuity. To verify you have the correct cable have some one turn the switch on and off. The meter should show continuity/open as the switch is flipped back and forth.
 
  #8  
Old 01-31-12, 11:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
rewire!

Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
I see black and white in your photo of the switch. So follow my instructions in the previous post. Warning: You must be sure what wires are from the switch. To do that, turn off breaker, mark all wires so they can be reconnected the same way and disconnect all the wires. Turn the switch on (breaker still off) and using a multimeter determine which cable has continuity. To verify you have the correct cable have some one turn the switch on and off. The meter should show continuity/open as the switch is flipped back and forth.





First wires on the top are switch wires. white on white. Black on Black.

I then connect the fixture and everything is fine intill the put the switch on. Then I get the fuse trip.

Advice or do you see anything wrong?
 
  #9  
Old 01-31-12, 01:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I then connect the fixture and everything is fine intill the put the switch on. Then I get the fuse trip.
That indicates one of the wires you are using is a neutral rather the the white wire used to supply power to the switch. You need to take the wires apart as I explained in my previous post and determine which cable is the switch loop.
 
  #10  
Old 01-31-12, 03:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC.
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Problems wiring light Fixture!!!

Hello matrona4146

What you are doing now is getting power to the switch threw the black wire in wire nut #1.
Your light works now because you have it wired up -- white (#6) to white(neutral) and
black to black (power). But as soon as you turn the switch on / off you are in reality
connecting the switche's black wire (power) to the switche's white
wire (neutral) This makes a dead short, that is what's blowing your fuse...




I would take the White & Black wires from the Switch out of Wire Nuts # 1 & 2.
Where the Black wire was in Wire nut # 1 put the White wire from the switch
in Wire nut # 1.. leave the switch black wire just hanging for now...
Undo wire #3 (wire to the light) from wire nut #4, also remove the small jumper
wire #9 from wire nut #5 going to wire nut #4....
Now take wire #3 and wire nut it to the switche's black wire..
Wire # 7 looks like a new jumper --- remover that jumper wire
and wire nut wires 6 & 8 together...
Your light should now work!!!

Hope this helps----Let us know how your wirring project came out.


Have A Nice Day



Linesman
 
  #11  
Old 01-31-12, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank You so much!!! Yeah it works. I really appreciate the help. Here is a picture of the final project.



 
  #12  
Old 01-31-12, 08:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: