tubigjoe [moved] basement recessed light ceiling radiant heat

Old 03-05-12, 09:21 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
tubigjoe [moved] basement recessed light ceiling radiant heat

hi all I'm new to home remodeling and would appreciate inputs.
I bought a house that has a finished basement and no lights installed.
Now the last owner probably didn't install any recessed lighting because of the radiant heat. I'm not sure but i cut up a small part of the ceiling and noticed that it is insulated, then foiled, then comes the plex radiant heating system on top of the floor.

Now I've been doing a lot of reading and I wanted to install a non-ic 4inch recessed lighting. now I do have a 5inch depth so it just hits the heating foil.
My question is, if I remove 4-5inches of insulation and staple to make sure it doesn't move or get closed to the non-ic recessed light fixtures. Would the fixture damage the foil? Is it a fire hazard or ruin the radiant heating plex tube?
What is the best way to install it?

Also is it ideal to tap into a existing receptacle to run 10-14 recessed lighting or should i just run a new line directly to the electrical panel? does anybody know how much wattage can a 15amp hold? Or should i use a 20amp? If i run a new line?

And cutting the Sheetrock, is it okay if i cut the Sheetrock off the beam staple the 14/2 wires and just patch it up? Or do i have to drill a hole on the beam to feed the electrical?

Also does anybody know why a light would flicker when an appliance would turn on like my Frigidaire professional dual fridge/freezer combo with a sep ice maker. When ever it turns on my lights would flicker?

Any answer is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by ray2047; 03-05-12 at 10:08 PM.
Old 03-05-12, 10:15 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I wanted to install a non-ic 4inch recessed lighting
Why do you want to install non-IC lights.

Old 03-13-12, 12:53 AM
N
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not an electrician, but here's some info.