Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

2 lights on 1 switch.. only 2 wires. PIctures included.


Frank Johnston's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3

08-20-12, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)  
2 lights on 1 switch.. only 2 wires. PIctures included.

Hello all I was having problems with my light flickering on and off I decided to disamble it and try to fix it. I found the problem it was a bare wire.. I re did the wiring on the switch but I made a big mistake and did not take pictures before I dis assembled it. Now I have the wiring fixed but I keep blowing fuses in my apartment trying to get the wiring correct agian.. It is a switch that controlls 2 lights but i cant seem to get it right.. any help would be appreciated.

heres a few pics.

Heres the switch + the 1st light socket
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/96/p1000202s.jpg/]

My problem lies at having only 2 wires (2 prong plug) and 3 terminals to use. None are marked and I'm not sure how I am supposed to hook it up..heres overhead of that prong.

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/341/p1000203x.jpg/]

I have been looking online on how to hook this up but i cant seem to find what i am looking for... rember this switch controls 2 lights not just one. So any help would be appreciated thanks for your time. sigh i knew i should have taken pictures..

Heres the second light which also has 2 wires
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/441/p1000207p.jpg/]

So a total of 4 wires have to be connected to that top switch (pics above) any help would be appreciated thanks for reading.

 
Sponsored Links
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32,088
TX

08-20-12, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Is this a lamp that plugs in?


I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

 
Frank Johnston's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3

08-20-12, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Yes it plug in to a 2 prong plug so there is no ground. I can take more pictures if you need.

Heres the light.

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/859/p1000208j.jpg/]

And here are the wires from uptop



Last edited by Frank Johnston; 08-20-12 at 10:05 PM.
 
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,869
MD

08-21-12, 06:54 AM   #4 (permalink)  
Frank, the white would not go through the switch. I think that is your problem. Connect the ribbed black to the white.

Connect the other 2 blacks to the switch. You may need to try a couple of combinations to make sure the switch works correctly.


All answers based on National Codes. Please check with your local building departments for local amendments.

 
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,470
VA

08-21-12, 10:19 AM   #5 (permalink)  
Frank, pcboss is correct when he says that the white would not go through the switch. In this case, however, the neutral must go to the switch, since the switch is also the socket for the upper lamp.

I would twist the small white wire and the ribbed wire from the plug together and connect that pair to (I'm guessing) the brass colored screw which is at the top of the middle photo in your first post.** Connect the small black from the downlight and the smooth black from the plug to the two black screws. If the two lamps don't operate in the sequence you'd like, swap the positions of the two black wites.

**NOTE: The neutrals - the ribbed black from the plug and the small white - must be connected to the screw that connects to the silver outer shell of the socket - the part that the screw thread on the bulb engages. You should be able to tell which screw that is by looking carefully at the switch/socket. If not, post back and we can tell you how to tell which one it is.

 
Frank Johnston's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3

08-22-12, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)  
PCboss and Nashkat1 I followed your directions... I located the screw that was connected to the shell of the outlet and connected the ribbed wire and the white wire to that.. I just plunked the other 2 wires on the other 2 screws and tried it out...

First try it worked perfectly..no blown fuses or bruised egos today

Thank you so much both of you. PCboss gave me instructions but Nashkat simplified it for me and made it very clear on what i had to do and a thank you for that..you both saved me 40$.. I was already in trouble from the woman, she wanted it fixed or replaced ....well now its fixed, and I have thats 40$ for beer, woot happy day!

Its fired up and works like a charm.. You both rule 2 thumbs up ! Thanks alot.


Last edited by Frank Johnston; 08-22-12 at 01:10 PM.
 
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,470
VA

08-22-12, 01:16 PM   #7 (permalink)  
well now its fixed, and I have thats 40$ for beer
Glad you got it, and thanks for letting us know. Cheers!

 
Search this Thread