Wiring for Lights

Old 09-24-12, 09:11 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring for Lights

A little background: I've been an aircraft electrician on and off for about 6 years total now, so I'm pretty familiar with wiring repairs, terminals, safety precautions etc, however, I've never created my own wiring from scratch, nor do I have any household electrical experience.

Here's what I'm wanting to do: I plan on wiring 16 standard houshold light sockets together. I'm basically planning on wiring them in parallel so multiple lights can be removed and the rest will still work. I want to basically take a plug, splice the power wire to a master on/off switch and dimmer unit, and then take it to the first light. The power will be connected to the post on the socket with the power wire leading to the power post on the next socket, and so on and so on so all of the power sides are connected and I plan on doing the same for the ground wires all the way around and back to the ground wire on the plug, then plug it into an extension cord and plug it into a standard american outlet. The lightbulbs I'll be using are pretty high watt lights, about 100 watts or higher or the new energy effecient kind... not sure what they're called, but the ones that have much less watts but equal higher on the package.

So here's my question: Am I doing anything wrong, or anything that won't work? I'm posting here mostly to make sure I don't screw up and burn my house down. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-24-12, 09:18 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 69 Votes on 64 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Tell us more about what you're trying to accomplish here and how this will be used. So far, only the extension cord is throwing any flags for me but others may catch things I have not.

Old 09-24-12, 09:28 AM
L