Automating power on/off

Old 10-20-12, 11:43 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Automating power on/off

Hi ,

I am new to this forums , so HI to all . I am a software developer and just started my journey in electronics side . I had this particular idea which I want to do for my project .

IDEA : Problem statement : In my college every room has fans and light which is powered with normal switches. People when leaving the class don't switch off the fans and lights when leaving the classroom

Solution : I wanted to develop a software which will recognize when the classroom is empty and will switch off the lights as soon as no one is there .

It will have three components :

1. Sensor : This will detect that there are no people in the room and send a signal to the system

2. Software system : Which is responsible for taking in INPUT from the sensor do the processing and send either signal ON/OFF command in some form to the electrical main

3. Main Circuit : This circuit should understand the software command and convert it to signal of some form which makes circuit switch off and switch on

MY PROBLEM :

I am not able to figure out two things .

1. What circuit should I use which can understand a software command and convert to signal ?

2. How can this circuit switch off the power?

I will be greatfull , If somebody can guide if not give proper solution

Sponsored Links
Old 10-20-12, 11:54 PM
Group Moderator
Received 376 Votes on 353 Posts