Remove an inbuilt fan, replace switch with receptacle?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-25-12, 06:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remove an inbuilt fan, replace switch with receptacle?

Once upon a time my basement had a gas grill. This was removed before I purchased the house.

I just removed the fan that was in place, and now have 2 copper wires (White/Black) sticking out. I'd like to replace the switch that connected to it with an electric socket.

I understand that the wires that used to go to the vent need to be capped and put in a new junction box. Do these need to be connected to each other for the light switch to be replaced with a receptacle?

I do not think I can get to anything behind the box housing the switch.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-25-12, 07:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,871
Received 16 Votes on 13 Posts
Are these the wires from the switch or at the switch location?
 
  #3  
Old 12-25-12, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wires from the fan are currently hanging out.
The wires at the switch are where the switch was before I removed it

As a fallback, I'm considering putting an electric outlet where the fan was, but it's not my first choice (the location is awkward)

Edit: the previous owner had pretty much mickeymoused whatever changes were made to the house. This is also true for the fan - rather than remove it, he cut the wire at the switch!
 
  #4  
Old 12-25-12, 07:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,945
Received 265 Votes on 248 Posts
If the fan wiring came directly from the switch then you should have no problem.

Right now you'll have at least two white wires connected together and the two black wires that were on the switch.

You'll need to open the white connection.

You'll end up with two white/black pairs in the switch box.

You'll need to use a voltmeter or some type of tester to find out which pair is the live feed that you will be using for your new outlet.

Cap off the other two wires.
 
  #5  
Old 12-25-12, 07:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, there are two wires coming out where the fan was, and there are two wires where the switch was. In both cases, one white and one black.

Or do you mean if I pull wires further out from the switch box?
 
  #6  
Old 12-25-12, 07:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Upvotes: 0
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There are two wires coming out where the fan was, and there are two wires where the switch
There doesn't seem to be a set of power wires, just the remains of a switch loop. As PJ asked, do you have a multimeter?
 
  #7  
Old 12-25-12, 07:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no. I don't mind trial and error, though. I'm more concerned with making sure I don't kill myself
 
  #8  
Old 12-25-12, 07:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,296
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
no. I don't mind trial and error, though. I'm more concerned with making sure I don't kill myself

Wrong answer. Get to Radio Shack or Harbor freight or even a big box store and get an inexpensive analog multimeter.

The life you save and the house you don't burn down may be your own.
 
  #9  
Old 12-26-12, 07:02 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I don't mind trial and error
Isn't testing and verification at the core of trial and error?

Here's one example of an inexpensive analog multimeter: Craftsman Analog Multimeter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: