"Flicker Bulbs" and Motion Activated or Time Actived Light Switches

Old 05-10-13, 08:19 AM
Question "Flicker Bulbs" and Motion Activated or Time Actived Light Switches

Hello, This is my first time ever posting to a thread or blog, so please forgive me if I miss something.... I currently have three lights with flicker bulbs in them, one is controlled by a time controlled Switch, and two others are controlled by motion detecting switches of which are from different manufacturers. The problem I'm having is, with the timer switch, the flicker bulbs stay on all of the time, they cannot be turned off. However when ordinary bulbs are placed in it, everything is fine. Whereas with the motion detecting switches, the flicker bulbs, stay on as well, but will turn of when the switch is turned off. Here, when ordinary bulbs are installed, everything works fine as well. Is there a way to use flicker bulbs with motion activated switches and Timed Switches? Secondly why are they not working? This may be one of those "Der" questions, but sometimes the obvious can be allusive. Thank You for your help in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-10-13, 08:25 AM
Group Moderator
Is the timer mechanical or electronic. If electronic does the timer have a neutral connection? If not that is probably why.

Old 05-10-13, 08:30 AM
They are electronic timers and motion detecters, the neutrals are connected, however, there is one other switch in the box at two of these stations. So the neutrals are all interconnected, not that, this should be a factor, however I figured it should be mentiond? Thank you for your quick reply.

Old 05-10-13, 08:39 AM
Sorry, I should have stated I believe they are electronical switches.
The Timed switch was a LED Display Screen that you can interact with while programming it. Where the Motion Detecting Switches have a bar at the bottom on the face plate that allows you to slide it to either the "on", "Motion actived" or "Off" Positions.

Old 05-10-13, 12:41 PM