remove 1 light from a 3way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-13, 09:00 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
remove 1 light from a 3way switch

I have a bedroom light and a closet light together on a 3way switch. Is it possible to remove the just the closet light from the 3 way swith to its own single switch.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-13, 09:27 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,635
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Doubtful, but it would depend on how it is wired now. What wires are in each light box, and the two three way switch boxes? No need to mention the ground wires.
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-13, 10:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,116 Votes on 1,036 Posts
An easier thing to do would be to leave the closet light on the 3 way circuit and install a single pole switch in the closet for just that light. When you turned the room light on.....the closet wouldn't come on unless the single pole switch was on. A downfall would be that the room light would have to be on for the closet light to work.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: