4 wirers into 3 ????


  #1  
Old 06-15-13, 07:39 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4 wirers into 3 ????

I want to replace a light globe with a flouro lite but theres 4 wirers on the old and only 3 required for the new.
The white wire has me stumped to where it should go on the new flouro.

Cheers.Name:  IMG_20130616_115859.jpg
Views: 346
Size:  46.5 KBName:  IMG_20130616_115809.jpg
Views: 526
Size:  27.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 06-16-13, 10:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,873
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Welcome to the forums from down under

I'm guessing your new light runs on 240 volts. Here in the states, where most of us are from, we do things a little differently.

It looks like you have an always live and a switched feed there.

This is an assumption on my part and should be confirmed with a meter.
Red = switched 240v
Black = always live 240v
White = neutral
Green = ground.

Therefore you would most likely cap off the black and use the red, white and ground.

This MUST be confirmed with a meter for accuracy.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: