Attaching new wire to an old kitchen exhaust fan...how to ground?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-01-13, 07:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attaching new wire to an old kitchen exhaust fan...how to ground?

I am in the middle of a complete kitchen remodel and I am running all new wire. I have an old fasco kitchen exhaust fan from the 60s(i think) that uses a plug in fan motor. The problem is the plug was designed for ungrounded 2 wire. What would be the correct way to run new 12/2 to the box and ground it? In a lot of places in my house it appears they grounded to old boxes by wrapping the ground wire from the nm cable around the screws of the metal cable clamp...any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-13, 07:26 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums!

In a lot of places in my house it appears they grounded to old boxes by wrapping the ground wire from the nm cable around the screws of the metal cable clamp...
That should work if the fan doesn't have a ground screw or lug anywhere.
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-13, 07:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I would say on an old fan like that......connect the ground where ever you are able to.

I know in the past I've drilled a hole in the junction box and used a small nut and bolt.
 
  #4  
Old 07-01-13, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the thoughts! I like the hole idea, guess ill go pick up some green ground screws with nuts to match and run it there...then see what the inspector says and will update. Love this forum, hope to help others with what i've learned doing my kitchen! Thanks again!!!
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-13, 10:53 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I... guess ill go pick up some green ground screws with nuts to match and run it there...
Good lick finding 10-32 machine thread nuts. Especially lock nuts, or with lock washers. I use 1/4" hardware for this, and a green Sharpie to meet the code requirement.
 
  #6  
Old 07-02-13, 08:59 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's so hard about finding a 10-32 nut? Any hardware or box store as them. Very common size.
 
  #7  
Old 07-02-13, 01:16 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Maybe they've added them recently, or do things differently where you are. Used to be scarce as hens' teeth around here. Not to mention that it needs to be a lock nut, or have a lock nut under it.
 
  #8  
Old 07-02-13, 07:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,489
Received 32 Votes on 24 Posts
  #9  
Old 07-02-13, 10:18 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Cool. Thanks. .
 
  #10  
Old 07-03-13, 06:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Found 'em at the 'Depot...thanks for all the help!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: