Can both 16 and 18 gauge wire be used in rewiring an antique Mogul socket?

Old 07-09-13, 05:09 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can both 16 and 18 gauge wire be used in rewiring an antique Mogul socket?

Hi everyone,

I'm rewiring a ca.1930's "reflector" lamp which uses a mogul socket in the middle as well as three lights around it. Everything was wired with 18 gauge wire when I found it.

On the base, one switch operates the mogul bulb, another switch lower on the base operates the three medium socket bulbs. The picture below shows the unit without the mogul portion attached.

Name:  WP_20130709_040.jpg
Views: 10688
Size:  32.4 KB

Since I will be using a mogul bulb (100/200/300W) I thought I should rewire with 16 gauge. However, part way through this project, I've realized that the 16 won't fit through the small shaft that leads out from the centre to the three lights!

I'm totally new to wiring. I think I've heard that on one circuit it's fine to use various gauges of wiring SO LONG AS the wires can handle the load (that is, you can go up to heavier gauge, but not down to lighter gauge).

My concern is that power coming through a 16 gauge wire to a 300W bulb will need to go through the the 18 gauge on it's way into and out from the bulb, and - I don't know what would happen...fire? insulation around the wires melting? short circuit?

[I thought I might just be able to drill larger holes, but there's not enough metal. I tried to separate the wires and jam them through separately, but no go]

Any wisdom or thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-13, 06:17 PM
Received 25 Votes on 19 Posts
I hope you realize that finding 100, 200, 300 watt mogul bulbs is soon going to be very difficult, if not impossible as they have essentially been outlawed.