ceiling drywall thickness

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-12-13, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ceiling drywall thickness

I was trying add a new connection for a ceiling fan in a top floor bed room. While checking the thickness of ceiling drywall, I found it to be one and half inch(1.5inch) or so. I thought ceiling drywall thickness will be around 5/8 inch max.
Its a cathedral ceiling.

Exparts can you please shade some light on this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-12-13, 09:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,066
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
Are you sure it's drywall and not plaster? Rare, but I have seen them double laminate the drywall before.
 
  #3  
Old 07-12-13, 09:48 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How old a house is this house?
Just some guesses, may have had failing texture and someone wanted to cover it up.
Improperly insulated so they though adding another layer would help.
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-13, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
96 build condo by reputed developer. It has attic about it. also has fiber glass insulation. double layer to improve insulation?
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-13, 11:56 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,066
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
Because it's a condo it's possible the fire marshal required the firerock to be doubled up. Most jurisdictions are cool with one layer but I have worked in areas where it was required to be doubled up with the joints staggered.
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-13, 02:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Two layers of 5/8" drywall is considered a two hour fire wall. Since it is a condo I suspect that is why.
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-13, 04:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How do you plan to mount the box? Are there engineered I-joists above?
It has attic about it.
Does that mean the space is accessible from above?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-12-13 at 11:17 PM.
  #8  
Old 07-13-13, 07:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there engineered I-joists above...space is accessible from above

Planning to do it from below. this is the fan mount.

Cut about 8.5 inch square to put this mount.

Do you see any code violation for putting fan here?
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 07-13-13, 07:23 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Nope, that should be fine.
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-13, 07:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your help!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: