Bathroom Lighting Fixture - Electrical Issues

Old 07-20-13, 12:05 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom Lighting Fixture - Electrical Issues

Help - having a problem installing new bathroom lighting fixtures. I'm a reasonably capable guy but not an expert on wiring or electrical. It's my first time to replace bathroom lighting.

I'm working on the kids' bathroom which has two light fixtures controlled by a single switch. I removed and discarded two 25-year old light fixtures. The wiring out of the wall looks like the following pics. For fixture 1 wiring, the blue labeled wires are the hot; the other side come from the switch.

Name:  Wiring image for blog.jpg
Views: 10516
Size:  20.0 KB

So I then followed other instructions here on doityourself. For fixture 1, I connected the hot black to the switch white. I connected the switch black to the fixture black and the hot white to the fixture white. I connected all three grounds to each other, and then mounted the light fixture. For fixture 2, it is much more straightforward, of course. I connected the fixture black to the other black and the fixture white to the other white, and the grounds to each other. Then I installed fixture 2.

What happened when I turned on the power was strange. Five of the six bulbs in the two fixtures turned on extremely dim. The sixth didn't light at all.

I immediately checked the bulbs in another socket and they all worked fine, to the proper brightness.

I then unmounted fixture 1 and checked all the connections, which seemed to be fine.

So what did I do wrong? It can't be an internal wiring issue because the old lights were working just fine before I threw them away. Is there a grounding issue or a sneak circuit somewhere?

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-13, 12:08 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts