Power supply for new kitchen hood vent

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-23-13, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power supply for new kitchen hood vent

We're doing some work in the kitchen and I'm installing a new hood vent. I've got access to both 20A and 15A, but I don't know which I should run to the unit. It's a simple hood vent, Broan QML30WW. I've looked over the spec sheet and the installation guide, but they don't specify Amps.

I'm guessing 15A, but I want to be sure.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-13, 09:13 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It draws 2A, so a 15A circuit should be more than enough. See Broan QML30WW Series Under Cabinet Range Hood, 30-Inch, White. Click on See more product details.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-13, 09:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fantastic! Thanks for the quick response.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-13, 09:44 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You're welcome. I hope the rest of your project goes that easily.
 
  #5  
Old 07-24-13, 05:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,909
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
If the unit is cord and plug connected it will need a dedicated circuit. If hardwired it can share a circuit with lighting.

It cannot be on one of the 20 amp countertop circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-13, 12:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The unit is not cord and plug. I will tie it in to the 15A circuit I have. Should work out just fine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: