Connecting Ceiling Fan With Switch

Old 07-24-13, 10:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting Ceiling Fan With Switch

Separated from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...ng-switch.html

Thanks for having me here, i'm a newbie. I just have the same problem and kept on thinking if i can use the same wiring instructions given by PJmax. I printed it out already as my cheat. This time i want to connect a ceiling fan with light. I want to show some pictures so it would be more clear to all of you gurus in this forum. Im planning to put a ceiling fan and this room has no power supply for the ceilng fan to run. It has a single switch and it is powering athe upper socket in one of the receptacle as seen in picture. Can i use this present single switch and re wire it to power up my ceiling fan? Im ok to use the pull out chain in the ceiling fan to turn on off the lights and the the fan. Or As seen on my pictures can you give me some re wiring instructions on making 2 switch to individually power up my fan and lights. Many thanks in advance. Name:  IMAG0019.jpg
Views: 1413
Size:  12.8 KBName:  IMAG0020.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  13.2 KBName:  IMAG0021.jpg
Views: 627
Size:  14.1 KB

Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 07-24-13 at 11:23 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 07-24-13, 01:01 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Is your house wired with conduit? So you have a hole in the ceiling with no wiring and no fan rated box, is that correct? Is there other wiring in the ceiling that is more readily accessible? This would be a solution if you didn't mind pulling chains for lights and fan.

Old 07-24-13, 01:28 PM