Please help me with wiring a lamp [with a pipe-frame]

Old 09-03-13, 02:15 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Please help me with wiring a lamp [with a pipe-frame]

Hi,

I'm brand new to this, but I wanted to start making lamps. I've attached a picture.

I got some steel piping, a random lightbulb, a SPST switch (don't know the AMP, VAC, or VOLTAGE), a porcelain socket, and an extension cord. I striped the extension cord, connected the smooth/white wire to the toggle switch. I snaked the wire through, and placed the bulb into the socket atop of the piping. I didn't use any connectors, plastic, tape, etc. I'm not sure if the exposed wires were touching the piping or not. After everything was twisted together, I plugged the extension cord into a socket, flipped the toggle switch, and the bulb went on. I was amazed.

Shortly after there was a loud pop, and it shut off.

I blew a fuse in my apartment, and the light wouldn't turn on again...however, the lightbulb still worked (I plugged it into another lamp to test it).

I can't imagine the amount of mistakes that I made, so let's pretend I'm aware that I might sound ignorant (I really am!). My questions are as follows:

1. What exactly went wrong?

2. Does the voltage/amplitude/vacuum amount matter? Is there a formula to which all things must observe? (example: does the AMP on a switch dictate what kind of lightbulb/extension cord I need to use -- or vice versa?

3. Should I have taped up all of the exposed wires? Should I have crimped them? Should any part of the wires (even the casing) be touching the piping?

4. Should the socket touch the piping? Should I wrap it in rubber?

Any help would be so appreciated, truly. Thanks in advance.

Old 09-03-13, 02:26 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts