Prob a dumb question but...


  #1  
Old 10-16-13, 06:11 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: UNited States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Prob a dumb question but...

I just finished installing a new 2-bulb ceiling light fixture. I removed the old and wired the new just like the old one was. This light fixture has 2 (3-way)switches that operate it. Now the light works just fine, however, the position of the both switches do not match the light. With one switch on, the other off, the light works. With both switches off, the light is on and so forth.

What is wrong if anything?

BTW... total noob at this stuff... so sorry if it's a really dumb question.
Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-13, 06:15 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3,860
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Confused.
Are you saying the light will not shut off any more?
There is no on or off position on three way switches. That's why there's no writing on them like a single pole switch.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-13, 06:25 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: UNited States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Maybe that's where I'm misunderstanding things. I always assume that up is on and down is off.

The light turns on and off just fine, but the switches don't match each other. One will be up, the other down and the light will be on or reverse of that. If both are up it's off, and if both are down it's on. It could be that it has always been this way, it is after all in the laundry room and I never really paid much attention before now.

Just want to make sure something isn't wired wrong.

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-13, 06:30 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3,860
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
That's the way it's suppose to work.
 
  #5  
Old 10-16-13, 06:34 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: UNited States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ok, good. Like I said, just wanted to make sure something wasn't wired wrong.

Appreciate the help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: