How many lights in a series?

Old 12-05-13, 10:39 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many lights in a series?

I'm new to this whole electrical thing but I've been doing a little reading so I can try and understand a little.

I want to make a lighted sign which would consist of between 25-50 lights. I want to do a series of miniature bulbs or LED's overlaid on top of letters like a vintage sign.

Tell me if this example is correct...

Power - AC Adapter
24v 3.8 Amp AC adapter

Lights - Miniature E10 base bulb
4.9v .3 Amps

So if I understand this correctly I can safely run 4 lights (4x4.9=19.6v) which will leave me with 4.4v to resist. If I use ohms law I would need a 15ohm resistor (4.4v/.3a=14.6 or 15ohms). If this is correct even if I used the entire 110v from the wall I would still only be able to use about 22 bulbs?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-13, 08:52 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No. Voltage is a constant. It is not additive. Amperage is additive, and total wattage is the limiting factor on any circuit.

A 24V output transformer is too powerful for your 4.9V bulbs. 3.8A will supply up to 12 0.3A bulbs at 100% and up to 10 using 80% as a safety factor.

Old 12-06-13, 09:48 AM
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
Check out the LED Center just google it and it will help you figure everything out.
Geo

Old 12-07-13, 06:02 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nashkat, you may be thinking of LEDs wired in parallel. Series-wired LEDs will behave the way
richs2k6 described.

Old 12-07-13, 08:52 AM
Group Moderator
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
You could probably run 5 of those on 24v. Many lamps and LED are bright enough on lower voltage. One plus is incandescent will last longer.

Old 12-09-13, 05:03 AM
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Don't use series resistors for incandescent lamps; that will produce unnecessary heat and also represent a waste of energy. Arranging incandescent lights as you described but in series groups of five will work with excellent results in this project.