Basic Question From A Total Newb

Old 12-06-13, 10:00 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basic Question From A Total Newb

Hey folks, I'm trying to put in two ceiling fans hanging from a beam in my high-ceiling living room, and because it's a solid beam I'm having to run external wire-mold to the power source.

Well, I also have a vertical support beam that I'd like to run wire-mold down to a switch to turn the fans on and off, in addition to having control from the pull chains. I have lights on the fan systems as well, so to be able to turn the lights on, without the fan running is a necessity.

To get to a power source, I have to continually run the wiremold beyond the switch, further down the beam into a wall outlet.

My question is, how do I wire this up? The fans are Hunter Adirondack fans, that have a black wire, black and white wire, white wire, and then the ground.

I've attached a crude drawing of what I'm talking about. Like I said, I'm brand new at this sort of thing aside from changing out switches, never ran wire. I appreciate any and all information.Name:  Ceiling Fan Wiring.jpg
Views: 2992
Size:  24.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-13, 10:06 PM
Group Moderator
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A question...... have you considered wiring the fans "always live" and using wireless remote controls. The handheld remote control units can usually be wall mounted.

Old 12-06-13, 11:39 PM
What's above the beam? Could you possibly get power from there?

Old 12-07-13, 12:04 AM
Negative on the possibility of power up around the beam. The only place I can get it is where it's run in the drawing, as that leads to a loft that is out of the way, out of sight. I really don't want to bring the wiremold down in the living room area for visual reasons.

I haven't looked at wireless controls as the fans didn't come with them, maybe I'm not aware of aftermarket accessories such as this? It would definitely be an option if it can be added.