Knob and tube ceiling fan replacement

Old 01-25-14, 04:09 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Knob and tube ceiling fan replacement

I'm looking to replace a bedroom ceiling fan from a ugly 1990s style fan with no light to a modern one with a light. I have knob and tube wiring in the house and I am by no means an electrician, so I'm looking for help to make sure I don't mess this up.

I shut off the power at the breaker box and at the switch, then disassembled the fan blades and removed the cover. The wiring is where I'm losing my confidence. I haven't removed the base of the fan because I haven't messed with the wires at all.

Can someone help me identify what's what? Because I have KnT wiring, there are only two, similar black wires coming out of the ceiling. One wire is connected by a orange wire nut to a single white wire. The 2nd house wire is connected by a white nut along with a black wire and a blue wire.

I have no idea what is what, I can't confirm if any colors were used correctly, if there's even a ground or anything. This was all done before I moved in.

The angles aren't the best, but I'm including a couple pictures to show what I have.

Any insight, and tips for a 1st timer removing and installing the new one, I would be really appreciative. Thanks in advance!

Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
Old 01-25-14, 04:47 PM
That's pretty scary looking. Is there attic access above?

The insulation appears to be frayed to a dangerous degree right where it comes through the plaster. It would be in your best interest to replace at least that section. It can be done legally and safely, but it will require access from above. Depending on if there is any slack in the wires, it could be done from below, but it will require cutting and then replastering the ceiling.

I also assume that the fan bracket is screwed to a joist? (please say yes)..

Old 01-25-14, 04:59 PM
No attic at all, it's the top floor of a Philly row house.

Old 01-25-14, 05:09 PM