How do I connect ceiling fan to wires in ceiling?

Old 01-26-14, 10:25 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I connect ceiling fan to wires in ceiling?

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to electricity and wiring. I recently bought a ceiling fan with light, and I am trying to connect the wires from that to the wires from the ceiling box.

My ceiling has the following wires coming from it:
-Red wire
-White wire
-Yellow wire
-Copper/brown ground wire

My fan has the following wires coming from it:
-Blue wire
-White wire
-Black wire
-Green grounding from fan
-Green grounding from fan mount

I was wondering how to connect the wires. I know this much so far:
-Red and Blue have to go together
-White and White have to go together
-All three grounding wires (copper/brown, green, and green wires)

Are these correct so far?

I'm unsure whether I connect the yellow and black together. This is because usually I would think that there would be a black wire coming from the ceiling as well. How do I connect these?

Also, there is only one switch for the fan and light.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-14, 10:43 AM
Group Moderator
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Have you confirmed that you have a fan rated ceiling box in place ?

You have three wires there for power...... red, yellow and white.

We can be fairly certain that the white is neutral. You would need a voltage tester or meter to see which wire(s) have power on them.

The red wire could be switched and connecting that to the blue wire will allow the light to be controlled from the wall.

Yellow could be always live and connecting that to the fan black would allow you to control the fan by the pull chain or remote.

You would connect the blue and black wires together if you want the fan and light both controlled from the wall switch. The green wires go to the bare wire in the box.

Old 01-26-14, 10:47 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts