Splicing in a ceiling fixture to an existing switched line

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-14, 12:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help Splicing in a ceiling fixture to an existing switched line

Hi all, I'm new to the boards thanks for all your time.

I started a project that I thought would be simple. Turns out I hit a snag. I am attempting to tie a ceiling light that is un-switched to a line that feeds the bottom half of an outlet that is tied to the wall switch.
I assumed, wrongly; that the load was a simple 14-2 romex. Turns out I cut into a 14-3.
I want to spice in a new 14-3 feeder to the ceiling box but, the light fixture is equipped with white, black, and bare tales. Which wires from the new feeder should I connect to the light fixture?
 

Last edited by MiKn67; 03-23-14 at 01:07 PM. Reason: Need a new title
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-14, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,953
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

What three wire cable did you cut into ?

It would be normal to find a three wire cable to the switched receptacle.
We need to be clear what you have and want to do.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-14, 01:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is the cable that feeds the outlet from the switch. I have new 3 wire cable to make the splice. But my fixture is 2 wire.
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-14, 01:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,953
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Ok... a three wire cable from the switch to the receptacle is common. You only need to run a two wire cable not three. Where do you want to connect the light..... at the receptacle or the switch box ?
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-14, 01:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wish it was that simple. I have already cut the cable in the ceiling thinking would need to splice an existing line. I never gave a thought to feeding a new cable to the box.
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-14, 01:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,953
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Ok.... so you've cut into the cable that goes from the switch to the receptacle. Now you will either have to add a splice box or two if the cable is too short to work with. You will most likely just need the red and white for your ceiling light to work with the switch.
 
  #7  
Old 03-23-14, 01:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I'll post back when the results are in.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: