Help with light switch, old wiring


  #1  
Old 03-24-14, 04:23 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help with light switch, old wiring

I'm replacing a dimmer switch with a 1 pole toggle switch.

When I removed the dimmer switch, there were just two black wires connected to it with wire nuts. There were also two other wires connected with a wire nut with a third short wire exposed. This exposed wire was not connected to the dimmer switch.

Is the exposed wire the ground that I should hook up to the green screw on the 1 pole switch? Also, once I disconnected the dimmer switch, other lights in the house will not turn on even if the fuse is turned back on.
 
  #2  
Old 03-24-14, 04:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
You must have missed a splice in passing. You said there were two black wires connected to the dimmer. What color are the other two wires that were connected together ?

Ground wires should be green or bare only.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-14, 04:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
They are old threaded wiring so I can't even tell what color they are.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-14, 04:41 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 775
Size:  34.9 KB

Here's a picture of all the wires in the box as they were when I pulled out the dimmer switch.
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-14, 04:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Any help is greatly appreciated. There are three rooms with no lights now.
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-14, 05:40 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
We connected the bare wire to the common screw on the switch along with another black wire and the red wire to the other screw. Every other light worked but my switch did not.

Any ideas?
 
  #7  
Old 03-24-14, 06:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
We connected the bare wire to the common screw on the switch along with another black wire and the red wire to the other screw.
There is no bare wire in your picture and only 3-way switches have commons. If it is a 3-way switch you have the wrong kind of switch based on the dimmer in your picture.
 
  #8  
Old 03-24-14, 06:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Interesting..... looks like a handi-box with no connectors. Are the wires just stuck thru the holes ?
Can you tell me how many wires come into that box. It looks like two cables and five wires.

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 457
Size:  34.0 KB
 
  #9  
Old 03-24-14, 08:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Is this the wire you called bare? Looks like a wire missing insulation and not safe.

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  29.2 KB
 
  #10  
Old 03-24-14, 09:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Actually.... now that I look at it again.... it would appear to be a mud ring on 4" square box.
 
  #11  
Old 03-25-14, 06:28 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
All wires are insulated. We got it to work by connecting a red wire to one side of the switch and the black wire to the other along with the short wire coming from two other black wires that were connected.
 
  #12  
Old 03-25-14, 06:39 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here's how I hooked the switch up. This light must be the first on the circuit of 4 rooms.

Name:  photo1.jpg
Views: 428
Size:  40.7 KB
 
  #13  
Old 03-25-14, 07:02 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Glad you got it working. Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: