Stranded to solid to stranded?


  #1  
Old 03-25-14, 08:26 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stranded to solid to stranded?

Is it okay, or advisable, to splice stranded wire to solid and then splice the other end of the solid to another length of stranded? I'd like to run the power supply cable of a sound bar placed atop a mantle, maybe not even a foot, behind the wall in order to hide it from view and without installing an outlet at the edge of the mantle (the sound bar would not completely hide the outlet if I did that). I thought maybe I could run a small length of stranded behind the wall and splice each end with the stranded power supply cable.
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-14, 09:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
If you mean lamp cord it is not approved for use in walls. Is this line voltage (120 volts)?
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-14, 10:41 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks and sorry, just re-read my OP and have contradictory info. I meant to say instead, "thought maybe I could run a small length of solid behind the wall and splice each end with the stranded power supply cable."

This is line voltage.
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-14, 11:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
I could run a small length of solid behind the wall and splice each end with the stranded power supply cable
What do you mean by "solid". Do you mean NM-b (AKA Romex)? All splices must be in a junction box that remains assessable (no burying under Sheetrock). Surface raceway may be your best/only solution. Wiremod makes surface raceway to hide cords. Wiremold CordMateŽ II Cord Organizer (CMK50) Conceal A/V cables in your room at Crutchfield.com
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-14, 11:43 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gotcha, thanks for help. Yes, I'm referring to NM-b when mentioning "solid".
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-14, 08:43 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think I ought to get a little more specific with my project after looking it over again today.

What I have is an AC adapter taking 120V down to 24V. I can take the 120V run of the AC adapter, plug that into the wall, and hide the transformer out of view. This leaves me with the 24V run from the transformer which is the run that I would like to hide. Is this considered low-voltage and if so, does that mean I can make a splice outside of a junction box?
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-14, 09:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Is this considered low-voltage and if so, does that mean I can make a splice outside of a junction box?
For our purposes yes. No Jbox need. You can run thermostat wire in the wall.
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-14, 06:55 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,961
Likes: 0
Received 229 Likes on 210 Posts
Depending on the length of the run, thermostat wire may be too thin to handle the load (in amperes) drawn by the sound bar.

Wire buried in the wall has to be rated for that usage, for flammability rating.
 
  #9  
Old 03-27-14, 07:54 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank you both for the help. At the bare minimum I could get by with a splice run of 6-8 inches...I need to pass the gap between where the sound bar sits on top of the mantle and the bottom of the TV that is mounted above it.

Would that be a small of enough run to use thermostat wire? I don't have it sitting in front of me currently to see if the amp draw is listed.
 
  #10  
Old 03-27-14, 08:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Probably better to go with NM-b if it is more than 5 amps.
 
  #11  
Old 03-27-14, 10:24 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Output of the adapter is 24V, 2.5A, 60W and gauge wire I would be splicing is 18AWG. Should I still go with NM?
 
  #12  
Old 03-27-14, 10:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
I would go with thermostat wire. If it was four conductor I'd twin the conductors.
 
  #13  
Old 03-27-14, 11:14 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank you! I'll let you know the end result.
 
  #14  
Old 04-02-14, 07:53 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This solution worked! Thanks again for the help.
 
  #15  
Old 04-02-14, 08:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
And thank you for letting us know the outcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: