Too many things on a circuit?


  #1  
Old 03-28-14, 01:23 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Too many things on a circuit?

Trying to install undercounter lights and discovered outlets for toaster oven, microwave, refrigerator, and one GFI outlet on backsplash on one circuit. Is this too many things on one circuit?
 
  #2  
Old 03-28-14, 02:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,399
Received 156 Likes on 138 Posts
No, but you will not be able to run them all at the same time.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-14, 04:31 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
If your unasked question is can you connect your under cabinet lighting to the receptacle circuit the answer is no. The counter top receptacles are on what is called a small appliance branch circuit (SABC) and the ONLY things allowed on this circuit are counter top receptacles, a refrigerator receptacle, pantry receptacles and dining room receptacles.
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-14, 04:36 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,468
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Isn't a receptacle for the controls for a gas cooking appliance still allowed?
 
  #5  
Old 03-28-14, 04:57 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
As far as I know the receptacle for a gas range (igniters, light and clock) is still allowable, I can't remember everything. My point is that the under cabinet lighting is not allowed.
 
  #6  
Old 03-28-14, 05:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,468
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
My point is that the under cabinet lighting is not allowed.
Oh, right-oh on that. No lighting of any kind on a SABC.
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-14, 10:16 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 475
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Oh, right-oh on that. No lighting of any kind on a SABC.
When was this placed into the "Code"?
My house, built in 1960 (+/- 2 years) has 2 SABC, but each has a light. Everything works fine.
Was my wiring "grandfathered"?
Thanks in advance.
 
  #8  
Old 03-29-14, 11:36 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,468
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
When was this placed into the "Code"?
Who knows. All codes are local.

My house, built in 1960 (+/- 2 years) has 2 SABC, but each has a light.
As far as the national model code - the NEC - is concerned, it was incorporated when dedicated SABCs were required. That is later than 1960, IIRC.

Was my wiring "grandfathered"?
Is your wiring "grandfathered"? Yes. Code adoptions and revisions do not require retrofitting or replacing existing installations which were compliant with the code provisions under which they were installed.

JOC, what two lights are fed from your SABCs?
 
  #9  
Old 03-29-14, 04:04 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 475
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thanks, Nashkat.

One circuit feeds a light above the sink, the other a light hanging above the kitchen table.
 
  #10  
Old 03-30-14, 04:03 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,468
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
All "grandfathered." If you want to improve the situation, splitting off those lights and any built-in appliances would be good places to start.
 
  #11  
Old 03-31-14, 11:53 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 475
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Not completely sure what would constitute "built in appliances", but the microwave and the dishwasher would be my guess, and they are each on their own (separate), dedicated circuit.
Thanks again for the info.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: