1 of my Porch lights not working. Please help. My wife thinks I'm an idiot!

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-29-14, 06:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
1 of my Porch lights not working. Please help. My wife thinks I'm an idiot!

One of the porch lights out front suddenly stopped working about 3 weeks ago. I decided to get new fixtures that weren't 15 years old with the house in the meantime thinking it was just a bad bulb. Swapping out light bulbs did not work. I installed 4 new fixtures 2 on either side of garage and 2 on either side of front door (1 of these is not working still!) All 3 other lights are working. What do I check for? The breaker i turned off turned all 4 of the outdoor lights off so I'm assuming they're on the same breaker. BTW my wife thinks I'm an idiot. Anyone have suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-29-14, 07:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Are all four lights on the same switch? Have you measured the voltage at the non working light using a multimeter, preferably analog? (A non contact tester is useless for this.) Have you removed all wire nuts and checked for loose wires or corrosion inside the wire nut? You might also want to read http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ther-info.html if you haven't already.
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-14, 07:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Yes all four lights are on the same switch (there are two switches in the home that operates them. I have not measured the voltage but will do that tomorrow. I Just installed the fixtures so all wire nuts had no corrosion and all wires seem to be tight.
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-14, 07:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
You need to check the connections at all of the lights not just that one since they are probably daisy chained.
Yes all four lights are on the same switch (there are two switches in the home that operates them.
So this is a 3-way.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-14, 08:01 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
Are they motion activated? Dusk to dawn? Could be as simple as the center tab in the socket not making contact. Turn off power and use a small hooked tool of some sort to slightly bend it up.

Oh wait...these are new? Crud...I misread it I think.
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-14, 10:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
All connections are good. Multimeter reading good numbers. Stumped and wife still thinks I'm an idiot. Might be over my head and time to call a pro!
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-14, 11:51 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,817
Likes Received: 6
Have you tried to switch with a known working bulb? What voltage do you get from the center tab to the screw shell?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes