ceiling fan/fluorescent light woes

Old 04-09-14, 05:28 PM
R
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ceiling fan/fluorescent light woes

Hi all, just joined after scouring these forums to get some assistance

I purchased my house a few years ago and in the family room we have a Hunter model 23534 ceiling fan. The fan still works fine but the fluorescent light does not work (tried 3 different bulbs). I tried searching and it seems my ballast has crapped out. Unfortunately, Hunter no longer sells parts for my fan. So am I out of luck and have to purchase a whole new fan!?

what I'm hoping for:
1. can I replace the ballast with any other random similarly sized light/ballast combo and re-wire it some how? (I'm no expert with electrical, but I think I can figure it out with guidance)

2. Can I get rid of the ballast altogether and switch to an incandescent setup?

Separate issue - not as important
This fan came with a remote that I never had. I can't get a replacement for this either! Is there a way to remove the remote receiver gizmo and replace it with a newer one?

Also, I don't really know the cost of all of this. If I end up spending 70+ dollars on replacement parts then I think I might as well get a new fan. I really like this one though, and how incredibly powerful it is, so I'm hoping I can keep it and get the light issues fixed.

Old 04-09-14, 06:05 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,174 Likes on 2,850 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That looks to be a round fluorescent tube. Those bulbs are very thin. You could remove it and the ballast but there is almost no room to put much of anything else in there.

The wireless remote looks like a standard Hunter wireless unit that fits in the canopy. You should be able to replace it with their current canopy mounted remote kit.

I left a link below to Hunter replacement parts although I'm not sure what, if any, are available from them directly.

Hunter fan/SupportDocuments/PartsGuides/model (23534) 98000-01-292.pdf

Name:  fan.jpg