Workshop lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-14, 09:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 212
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Workshop lighting

I need to install lighting along a workbench about 16ft long
I will be using 4ft sections of fluoresent lighting

I see 4ft sections in the standard large diameter tubes as well as new thin tubes.
What is the current preferred technllogy for this type of application?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-14, 09:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,950
Received 265 Votes on 248 Posts
You can buy two or four lamp 4' fixtures or one of my customer favorites...... an 8' fixture with four 4' tubes.

Definitely go with a T8 type fixture.

Name:  t8.jpg
Views: 105
Size:  8.2 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-14, 09:47 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The smaller T5 fixtures and bulbs will give brighter light, more reliability, and instant on. The larger bulbs will soon be located on the dinosaur aisle.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-14, 10:46 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,893
Received 47 Votes on 40 Posts
I have seen limited T5 fixtures and bulbs at the big box stores. T12 are being phased out. T8 are still going strong and will be around for many years. They would be your most economical choice for lighting. T8 features about the same as T5 with only slightly more energy usage.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-14, 11:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 212
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the option information, based on your advice i did some research and have considered going with two 8ft T8 sections over the T5 due to cost considerations.

i don't plan on hard-wiring the connection, i will fabricate a plug end for each segment and plug them into a switched outlet, i might also put a pull chain on each in case i want to operate them independent. any thoughts on the wiring?
i thought i would use 14GA wire for the plug ends.

thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: