Having trouble with a basic light fixture change

Closed Thread

Old 06-02-14, 02:27 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Having trouble with a basic light fixture change

Greetings! I am a complete newbie to the wonderful world of electricity. I bought a chandelier a while ago and finally decided, how hard can it be to switch out the existing one?

I read the directions, and it appeared fairly straightforward. The chandelier has two hot (?) wires and one bare copper grounding wire. I took the old chandelier out and stupidly did not check the set up very carefully. It corresponded to what I expected: I have three wires coming out of my ceiling, two of which appear to be "hot" and one neutral (or ground? Not sure). My old chandelier has the same wiring as my new one: two insulated wires and one grounding wire.

I should note that this is an old building, so there are no markings of any kind indicating which wire is which. They are all insulated with crumbling black material. Similarly, the chandeliers don't seem to have "hot" versus "neutral" wires. I'm sure you've seen these types of wires, they are attached in two transparent tubes, and you cut the tubes apart when you want to attach the wires.

I should also note that I've tried to install both chandeliers at this point, and seem to be having the same problem with both. I connect my two "normal" chandelier wires to the two "hot" ceiling wires. I connect the ground wire to what appears to be the ceiling ground wire.

The chandelier turns on, BUT it's on the circuit for my kitchen light. Rather than having a kitchen light with one switch, and a chandelier with another (dimmer, if that makes a difference), I have both lights controlled by my kitchen switch. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get the chandelier switch back into the mix.