Assistance wiring a Honeywell RPLS540A in existing three-way?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-12-14, 09:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Assistance wiring a Honeywell RPLS540A in existing three-way?

I would greatly appreciate any guidance that anyone could offer. I have an existing three-way setup consisting of two wall switches...

Name:  3-way.jpg
Views: 2209
Size:  24.3 KB

Switch 1 has no ground wire and the electrical box is not grounded. Switch 2 has a ground wire attached to the electrical box.

I am trying to install a Honeywell RPLS540A into the Switch 2 box since it contains a ground, and you can see a PDF of the installation instructions here;
https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...69-2454EFS.pdf

I am a bit confused by Honeywell's instructions for this particular wiring scenario. Could someone please help with some much needed guidance?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-14, 09:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

At switch 1 - what color wire is on the dark colored screw ?

At switch 2 - I see one 2 wire cable and one 3 wire cable. That's it. Is that correct ?
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-12-14 at 09:51 PM.
  #3  
Old 06-12-14, 10:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
At switch 1: Black goes to a copper colored (reddish) screw, red and white go to brass (goldish) screws.

At switch 2: Yes, you are correct. A black wire and a white wire are connected together with a wire nut. At the switch itself, the black cable goes to a dark (blackish) screw, the red and white go to brass (goldish) screws. And while you can't see it, a bare ground wire is screwed to the metal electrical box.

Thanks so much for assisting!
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-14, 11:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
Original switch wiring....
Switch 1 - Common is black and travelers are white and red
Switch 2- Common is black of two wire and travelers are white and red.

At switch 1 - remove red wire from switch and cap it. Put switch back in. It says use single pole switch. The three way will work fine.

At switch 2 - remove the switch. Cap the red wire. Connect the white that was on the switch to yellow on the 540A. Cap those two wires. Connect the black that was on the switch to black LOAD

Open the white/black connection. That black goes to the black LINE on the 540A. These two blacks will always stay connected. Reconnect the white and cap it.


Name:  3wt.JPG
Views: 1573
Size:  26.7 KB

We know you have a three way switch loop setup. You may have to reverse the black and white connections of the two wire cable at the 540A since we don't know what color they used as hot.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-14, 05:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much! But I am just a bit confused on the last step that you mention...

Originally Posted by PJmax
Open the white/black connection. That black goes to the black LINE on the 540A. These two blacks will always stay connected. Reconnect the white and cap it.
Reconnect the white to what?
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-14, 07:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
You could have just joined the black LINE wire to that white/black splice. The point I was trying to make was that the two black wires stay together even if the two wire switch leg is backwards.
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-14, 09:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all of your help. That wiring does work and seems perfectly fine!
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-14, 09:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
That was a little confusing..... great job.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: