120V Lights In SERIES - Ya. Ino. But it's the one time I gotta!


  #1  
Old 06-14-14, 05:03 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
120V Lights In SERIES - Ya. Ino. But it's the one time I gotta!

Please refer to the pics. Running the light in series will be INFINITELY easier than in parallel (if it works ok) due to the constraints. Just wondering if I will be creating more problems than I am solving.

In words, this is the scenario:
- Existing outside light (LIGHT#1)
- Power to the switch (SPST - "SW#1")
- White passes through, Black is switched to the light.
- Switch is on an outside (exterior) ground floor wall.
- Circuit Box (power) is in the basement.

Ok - so far, no big deal, right?
I have a SECOND outside light, improperly wired by the previous owner and not functioning. I want LIGHT#2 to work off SW#1, but here are the constraints:
- I have the 2-wire line to LIGHT#2, in my hand, in the basement where it runs to LIGHT#2 and nothing else (yet).
- I have a junction box in the basement - power in, power out to the SW#1
- Here's the kicker: I cannot run the wire from LIGHT#2 into SW#1, the preferred solution. Getting there from the basement would be an ENORMOUS PITA.
- I also cannot run a wire from LIGHT#2 to LIGHT#1 - they are both outside and that would be ridonkulous not to mention LIGHT#1 is mounted on a brick wall.

OPTIONS?
- Because I have access to the junction box feeding SW#1, I can wire LIGHT#2 in series with the WHITE line heading towards SW#1.
- Both LIGHT#1 and LIGHT#2 are low-wattage CFLs.
- But having 2x120V devices on the same line in series is where I'm stuck. Not sure how their little transformers will react with <120V when 2 wired in series, or if they can even fire the CFL's.

Thoughts?
Will it work?
Will it burn my house down?
Any options other than taking my entire kitchen wall apart to access SW#1?
(And wireless remote switch would be an option only if I can't run it in series)

Thanks!
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 06-14-14, 05:18 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,100
Received 162 Upvotes on 148 Posts
The preferred solution will work fine.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-14, 05:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Please explain why you would have to tear open the wall to get to the switch? Why can't you do it in the normal fashion and fish it without tearing out the wall.
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-14, 05:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Geochurchi - sorry, I wasn't clear - the "preferred" solution is only preferred electrically. Physically, it would be a bit of a nightmare.

I'm hoping "Viable Option" in Pic3 is in fact viable...
 
  #5  
Old 06-14-14, 06:11 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
You cannot wire two 120 volt lamps in series and expect it to work, especially not CFLs.
 
  #6  
Old 06-14-14, 06:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Physically, it would be a bit of a nightmare.
Why? We may be able to suggest ways to alleviate the nightmare.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: