Is a light fixture ok as a load on GFI?


  #1  
Old 06-15-14, 09:34 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,102
Received 8 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Is a light fixture ok as a load on GFI?

I am remodeling a bath and installed a GFI outlet near the sink and then added the light above the mirror as a load. When I flip the light switch, it immediately trips the GFI. If I remove bulbs, closing the switch does not trip it.
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-14, 09:43 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,399
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
It should work fine. Check the wiring, I suspect you do not have the neutral passing through the GFCI.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-14, 10:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
nstalled a GFI outlet near the sink and then added the light above the mirror as a load.
Best practice is to connect the light on line side but it should work on either side. Disconnect the light and see if the GFCI will reset.
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-14, 10:19 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,102
Received 8 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Many Thanks

Checking the wiring was the ticket. I did have the neutral running thru the GFI, but one of the neutral screws was loose. I sometimes think I am losing it at 69.
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-14, 11:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I sometimes think I am losing it at 69
I'm at 67 and can't find it sometimes. Thanks for letting us know you did.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: