Lighting Fixture and adjacent Electrical Outlet Won't Turn Off

Old 06-21-14, 04:56 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lighting Fixture and adjacent Electrical Outlet Won't Turn Off

Hi all - I've reviewing previous threads on similar topics, and this seems like a great forum for asking lighting and electrical questions. The moderators and other guests seem responsive, patient and knowledgeable. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

I am a new home-owner and not experienced in electrical. This is my first time putting up lighting.

I am attempting to install a lighting fixture to a ceiling junction box. It is a new condo, and this ceiling junction box has not been used before. There is a light switch close-by with two switches. One of the switches (SWITCH A) does not turn anything on or off, so I presume that it is connected to the ceiling junction box (I recognize that this may be incorrect; it's a guess). The other switch (SWITCH B) leads to an adjacent electrical outlet.

The lighting fixture contains:

1 black wire
1 white wire
1 clean copper wire (the ground)

I opened the ceiling junction box (see photo attached) and found:

1 black wire;
1 white wire;
1 orange wire;
1 green wire

I used a Mastercraft Digital Multimeter to test which wire might be "hot". The BLACK wire and the ORANGE wire both registered; in fact, the ORANGE wire sparked when I touched it and connected it to GREEN wire via the Digital Multimeter.

Following a review of the instructions included with lighting fixture I spliced the BLACK wire from the junction box to the BLACK wire to the lighting fixture, and spliced the WHITE wire from the junction box to the WHITE wire from the lighting fixture.

When I turned the breaker back on, the ceiling light came on, but it did not turn on or off when I used SWITCH A or SWITCH B. Also, to my surprise, SWITCH B stopped functioning as well, and the power to the electrical outlet no longer turns off.