Wiring outlet with fan?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-30-14, 08:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring outlet with fan?

Hello. I need some help please.
I have no idea how to wire this outlet. Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  37.8 KB
That is how its been wired and the fan has never worked. But the outlets do.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-14, 08:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I see a receptacle there with a red, black and white wire connected. It looks like the jumper on the receptacle between the red and black wires is missing or has been removed.

Does the black wire on the receptacle connect to the switch ?
With that receptacle split like that..... either only one half of the receptacle works or one of the sides is switch controlled or you have two circuits to that receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-14, 09:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.
And thanks for your time sir. Both outlets work. Checking with my multimeter both the red and the black are giving 124v
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-14, 09:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Am I correct..... the jumper is missing on the receptacle ?
If yes.... please measure from the red to the black for me.

Name:  02_Jumper.jpg
Views: 170
Size:  23.1 KB
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-14, 10:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is missing. And I get 250v.....
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-14, 10:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Ok.... be very careful there because obviously you have 250vac which is high voltage. That is a multiwire branch circuit. It's controlled by two circuit breakers.
You may want to turn off BOTH breakers while working in that box.

We need to see the wire connections inside the box if you can carefully pull them out.
 
  #7  
Old 07-30-14, 10:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hope you can see it.Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  35.3 KB
 
  #8  
Old 07-30-14, 10:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
One more picture from a little further out so we can see how the wires connect to the devices.
 
  #9  
Old 07-30-14, 10:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 115
Size:  35.1 KB
I've removed the switch. But the two black on the right were connected to the switch.
 
  #10  
Old 07-30-14, 11:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is their only one fan box in the room.
could you drop the trim on the fan and tell us what cables you have at the fan box.
one cable,black,white,ahd ground. or 2 cables with what color wires.
 
  #11  
Old 07-30-14, 11:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi John. There is only one fan. There are 3 wires. Black, white and ground.
 
  #12  
Old 07-31-14, 12:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It seems to be wired right? Perhaps the fan is dead??
 
  #13  
Old 07-31-14, 02:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
break the white wire ,in the switch box,between the 2 blacks that went to the switch.
you now have 2 cables with a black,white,and ground.
take a meter and see if either of them go to the fan box.
if you fine one that works,use the power in the receptacle to feed the switch and the fan.
cap off the black and white of the unused cable. don't cut off the wires-you may fine a use for them some day.
 
  #14  
Old 07-31-14, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did that and got the outlet and the fan working but lost power to another outlet
 
  #15  
Old 07-31-14, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
In your box I think I see 2) three wire cables and 2) two wires cables.

The three wire cables are connected red to red, black to black, and white to white.
Those connections must be maintained as those circuits only stop by there on their way to other places.

Now you've determined that one of the two wire cables goes to the fan. The white wire connects to the white connection of the three wire cables. The black goes to one side of the switch. Then a short jumper from the other side of the switch to either the red connection or the black connection.

The white and black of the last two wire cable should be wire nutted off.

It is imperative that this wiring be done correctly. Since you have a multiwire branch circuit there.... a mistake can apply 240vac to receptacles on those circuits.
 
  #16  
Old 08-01-14, 12:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very very much PJMax. Everything is working....except my sanity.
 
  #17  
Old 08-02-14, 12:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Glad everything is working now.

Have a and get your sanity back.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: