Replacing light switch wiring question?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-31-14, 08:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing light switch wiring question?

The light that this switch operates is also operated by another switch at the other end of the room.

After removing old switch (pic 1) & (pic 2) colored wires marked & installing new switch (pic 3) & (pic 4) colored wires marked, the light will turn on & off using the new switch but it will not turn off using the second switch. Also if the light is off the second switch will turn the light on. Any suggestions on what I did wrong would be appreciated.

I thought I add 4 pictures but they are not showing?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-31-14, 08:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
I checked.... your pics are not uploaded. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

If you replaced a three way switch..... look at the old switch and look at the new switch. There is a dark colored screw on each switch. The wire that was on the dark colored screw on the old switch must go to the dark colored screw on the new switch.
 
  #3  
Old 07-31-14, 09:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
When you upload your pictures switch to basic uploader. There is a problem with the advanced uploader.
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-14, 06:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  pic 1.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  28.3 KBName:  pic 2.jpg
Views: 59
Size:  31.3 KBName:  pic 3.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  27.2 KBName:  pic 4.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  34.1 KB

Here are the pictures for my previous question (see #1), thanks
 

Last edited by dommm56; 08-01-14 at 08:16 AM.
  #5  
Old 08-02-14, 12:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
I see your bottom picture. I see three "push in" holes but I don't see three screws.
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-14, 12:19 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The screws on the new switch are the same as the push in holes ie: 2 connections. A 3 way switch has 3 connections.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: