Is it normal to have your common wire go to your switch?

Old 08-09-14, 01:48 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Is it normal to have your common wire go to your switch?

Ok, I just bought a house and did some remodeling a couple of rooms, now I'm trying to jump into a junction box to put in an outlet on a wall that I just put up. I'm no pro electrician, but I've done this a couple of times. But this one has me a little confused. Power going in to the junction box connects the COMMON wire directly to a switch, and the hot wire is going to another box that goes to two light fixtures. The switch has the common wire going in the top of it and a black wire in the bottom going back into the junction box that I'm trying to jump into, then connects to a common wire that goes back to the box that goes to the light fixtures. I see no signs of grounding. Shouldn't the hot wire go to the switch? And the common wire head to the lights? Would this be polarized wrong? Is it safe? Or am I just thinking it all wrong? Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Old 08-09-14, 03:16 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Just to help a little. There is no "polarization" to AC service. There is a hot wire and a neutral. Not sure what you are referring to with the term "common". For your receptacle you will need an uninterrupted hot and corresponding neutral. So if you make a connection, it must be before the switch in order for the receptacle to be hot all the time.

Old 08-09-14, 07:09 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The switch has the common wire going in the top of it and a black wire in the bottom going back into the junction box that I'm trying to jump into,