Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Lighting, Light Fixtures, Ceiling and Exhaust Fans
Reload this Page >

How to replace a "Progress 300w" Landscape lighting transformer with a "Malibu"

How to replace a "Progress 300w" Landscape lighting transformer with a "Malibu"

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-13-14, 09:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 87
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to replace a "Progress 300w" Landscape lighting transformer with a "Malibu"

HI,

My existing "Progress 300w" died on my recently. They go for around $370 to replace.

I was hoping that a Malibu 300w would be ok to replace it which around $100Name:  Landscape lighting wires.jpg
Views: 985
Size:  24.6 KB.

There are two 2-wire cables coming out of the ground from the landscape lights. (See attachemtent for a picture). On the old Progress Transformer, one wire from each cable went to seperate terminals (hot). The remaining wires, one from each cable, went to a "common" terminal.

Here's the problem. There is no "Common" terminal on the Malibu system. What am I suppose to do with those wires?

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-14, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 87
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update:

I have 2 lines coming in as noted in the picure of my 1st post. On the new Malibu transformer, I took 1 wire from each line and connected it to terminal-A. I took the remaining wires (one from each line) and attached it to terminal-B. I checked and I am getting 12V from the transformer terminals. The lights do not work.

How can I check the lines coming in? I'm suspecting a lighting strike because they stopped working during a bad storm. The old tranformer was confirmed to not be working.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-14, 08:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,113
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
A Malibu transformer will work fine there.

If the lightning strike was close you may have lost all your bulbs too. You have the transformer connected properly. Use a meter and check for voltage at the first light. If you don't have a meter try changing a bulb.

You may find all the bulbs black.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: