new light switch will not work


  #1  
Old 08-23-14, 02:11 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
new light switch will not work

need help from the experts on this one. I wanted to replace my light switch that controls my exterior flood light. So i removed the existing light switch, installed the new one connecting the 2 wires in the same place, and it wont work.

I thought the issue is the light switch was 20amp not 15amp, so i bought a 20amp light switch - same issue. I tried another 15amp light switch thats illuminated. It doesnt work either, but when its off the switch illuminates which means there's power.

There's only 2 black wires. ive tried swapping the wires, and ive used the ground wire on one of the switches, but the previous switch did NOT use ground and i dont think its required.

Any thoughts? I double checked all the wire nuts, i made sure the ground wire isnt touching any other wire. Everything was working with the old switch, but it still doesnt work when i try the original light switch.

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 535
Size:  23.9 KB
 
  #2  
Old 08-23-14, 02:33 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,094
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Did you shut the circuit off before you started? Check the bulb just in case.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-14, 07:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thats a good idea. I turned off all power to the house while installing the switches. The switch controls a floodlight that has 2 bulbs that worked before i did this, but i guess its possible they both went out. Ill try another bulb just to rule that out.
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-14, 06:10 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,094
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
You can also remove the 2 wires from the switch and wirenut them together and see if the lights will work, also check the other wirenut connections in that box to make sure they are tight.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-14, 08:05 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What was the reason for installing a new switch? Was there a problem?
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-14, 08:13 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,428
Received 899 Upvotes on 760 Posts
Bypass the switch and connect the 2 wires together with a wire nut. The light should come on. If not you have other issues then the switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: