Ext Motion Flood Light (New) - 1 light not working???

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-14, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Ext Motion Flood Light (New) - 1 light not working???

I recently replaced all my exterior motion sensor flood lights. The old lights worked fine other then the senors were going out. So you know, all light installed locations are under eave with a electrical box and standard wire already run to each location. All wires were in good condition. New lights were installed with proper size wire nuts and secured with electrical tape.

The front driveway light was installed and works fine. This light is a different brand from the backyard lights.

Backyard flood light (1) installed easily and works fine. Backyard flood light (2) installed easily BUT only one of the bulbs came on.

I replaced flood light (2) with another new light and the same problem occurred. I swapped the bulbs (ALL new) showing me the bulbs were not the issue.

One difference between both backyard flood lights is (1) has 4 wires (2 blk, 2 wht) where (2) has only 2 wires. My thought is one of (1) pairs runs to (2).

Any ideas thoughts or assistance would be much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-14, 01:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Tell us how you connected the one with two cables. Is there a switch somewhere. If so how is it wired. Do you know where power comes in?
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-14, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a light switch inside to control on/off/override of both yard fixtures. This switch worked as expected for the old lights as well as for the new lights.

The (1) light with the two wire pairs was connected just as the original lights were. The black pair was connected to the light's black and the white pair was connected to the light's white. All were connected with new orange wire nuts and electrical tape for added security.

I have to assume power comes from the panel. I am unable to trace the wire through the attic as I am currently storing stuff for someone.

I know this is a strange issue which is why I am baffled.
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-14, 02:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,100
Received 373 Votes on 350 Posts
Backyard flood light (2) installed easily BUT only one of the bulbs came on.
That would be a problem in the fixture itself.... not the supply wiring.
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-14, 02:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I figured the problem was with the light fixture but after installing 2 NEW fixtures (two different brands) the same issue is present. Even swapping out NEW bulbs to make sure one of the bulbs may be defective.

I'm thinking about taking it down and reinstalling it. It's been raining here too much to do that the last few days. Not sure if this will make a difference being it's not that difficult to install something using two wires.???
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: