new LED recessed lights strobing


  #1  
Old 09-24-14, 04:50 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new LED recessed lights strobing

We installed LED Recessed Lighting in our Kitchen with the understanding that we could have a dimmer switch. When we hooked it up, we got strobe lighting instead! We used Model UtiliTech Pro #18290 recessed lighting Kit and the recommended Lutron C-L dimmer switch #TGCL-153PH. We tried 2 different switches thinking perhaps one was malfunctioning. We tried to adjust the toggle inside the dimmer switch and still ... no dimmer, just strobes! What can I do now? I can't take the fixtures out and replace them and I REALLY want dimmers....
 
  #2  
Old 09-24-14, 05:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Redo all connections. If that doesn't help try a regular switch. If that works: Are the bulbs dimable? Dimming is a crap shoot with LEDs, different brand of dimmer, different brand of bulbs may help. With a particular dimmer even higher watt bulbs may help.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-24-14 at 05:34 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-24-14, 07:33 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might want to try a different dimmer. Sometimes the store electrician can help because they've seen the problems from other customers.
Lutron 603PGH,Lutron CTCL-153PDH,Lutron DVWCL-153PDH,
Lutron S-603P

As Ray said, before you go shopping for dimmers, ensure lights work.

Also there are ranges for LED dimming, you can probably get down to 5 to 10%

I forgot to mention. I filled out a support form at Lutron's Website and they actually got back to me via e-mail. Very nice. I had a problem dimming triple tube CFL's with dimmable ballasts.
 

Last edited by Handyone; 09-24-14 at 07:44 PM. Reason: support
  #4  
Old 09-25-14, 06:51 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you ... I was wondering if we might have to go to a different dimmer switch...
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-14, 07:30 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I actually did contact Lutron and they were extremely helpful. Don't have a solution yet, but they were prompt and accommodating. Can't find a site for the Utilitech. Thanks for the suggestion on options of Lutron switches. That maybe should be our next try....!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: