new LED recessed lights strobing

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-14, 04:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
new LED recessed lights strobing

We installed LED Recessed Lighting in our Kitchen with the understanding that we could have a dimmer switch. When we hooked it up, we got strobe lighting instead! We used Model UtiliTech Pro #18290 recessed lighting Kit and the recommended Lutron C-L dimmer switch #TGCL-153PH. We tried 2 different switches thinking perhaps one was malfunctioning. We tried to adjust the toggle inside the dimmer switch and still ... no dimmer, just strobes! What can I do now? I can't take the fixtures out and replace them and I REALLY want dimmers....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-14, 05:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Redo all connections. If that doesn't help try a regular switch. If that works: Are the bulbs dimable? Dimming is a crap shoot with LEDs, different brand of dimmer, different brand of bulbs may help. With a particular dimmer even higher watt bulbs may help.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-24-14 at 05:34 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-24-14, 07:33 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
You might want to try a different dimmer. Sometimes the store electrician can help because they've seen the problems from other customers.
Lutron 603PGH,Lutron CTCL-153PDH,Lutron DVWCL-153PDH,
Lutron S-603P

As Ray said, before you go shopping for dimmers, ensure lights work.

Also there are ranges for LED dimming, you can probably get down to 5 to 10%

I forgot to mention. I filled out a support form at Lutron's Website and they actually got back to me via e-mail. Very nice. I had a problem dimming triple tube CFL's with dimmable ballasts.
 

Last edited by Handyone; 09-24-14 at 07:44 PM. Reason: support
  #4  
Old 09-25-14, 06:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Thank you ... I was wondering if we might have to go to a different dimmer switch...
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-14, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
I actually did contact Lutron and they were extremely helpful. Don't have a solution yet, but they were prompt and accommodating. Can't find a site for the Utilitech. Thanks for the suggestion on options of Lutron switches. That maybe should be our next try....!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes