Help Installing Light, Wired for a Fan, With Pictures

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-14, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help Installing Light, Wired for a Fan, With Pictures

Hi,

I am installing a light fixture to a ceiling box. I believe it is set up for a fan. It looks like this.

Name:  20140928_124642.jpg
Views: 440
Size:  29.8 KB

I tried to connections:

1. I attached the red from the ceiling to the black on the light and the white from the ceiling to the white on the light. I capped the black. This is how it is in the picture above. The Fixture does not light when I hit the switch.

2. I also tried capping the red and connecting black from ceiling to black on light and white from ceiling to white on light. The light does not turn off.

You probably want to see the switch now. Well here it is.

Name:  20140928_124618.jpg
Views: 465
Size:  40.7 KB

I have not changed anything here. There is one switch but it looks like it is set up for two. The one switch controls a wall outlet.

Here is a close up of the three wire groupings coming out of the wall.

Name:  20140928_124630.jpg
Views: 259
Size:  36.1 KB

Any thoughts? The goals is to get the light fixture to work off the switch.

Let me know what followup is needed.

Thanks everyone!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-14, 11:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
At the switch are there a group of blacks connected to a pigtail that is connected to the switch? (I can't tell for sure.) At the light do you have only a single 3-conductor cable (red, white black) or is there also a 2-conductor cable (white, black)?
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-14, 11:32 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welcome.
Before even trying to say how to wire, I just want to confirm a few things:

1. The two gang switch box only had one switch, the one on right. And the left side had nothing?

2. The switch on right controls a receptacle, and you have verified this.

3. "The Fixture does not light when I hit the switch." What switch?? Did you try to add an additional switch to the left of receptacle switch?
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-14, 11:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ray,

Yes there are a group of blacks connected in a group (pigtail?) and yes there is a single black wire coming from the pigtail and going into the switch.

At the light, yes there is only a single 3 conductor cable (red, black, white). There is not a 2-conductor cable.

Thanks!
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-14, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Handyone - below are my responses:

1) Yes exactly correct
2) I have not verified this. Do you know how I can? When I connect the light it is either always on (with black to black wires connected) or always off (with red to black wires connected)
3) The switch on the right. No, I have not tried that but now that you mention it I will try it. (seems like my obvious next step now that you said it). I will report back.

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-14, 11:47 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3) The switch on the right. No, I have not tried that but now that you mention it I will try it. (seems like my obvious next step now that you said it). I will report back.
Please don't mess with switch on right just yet.
 
  #7  
Old 09-28-14, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No problem. I'll hold off for now.
 
  #8  
Old 09-28-14, 12:03 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK.
This is a slow process. You need to confirm what existing switch does and then work on ceiling.
You said the existing switch controls a receptacle, not me.
So, with a meter or receptacle tester... Verify right hand switch controls a receptacle.
Check both top and bottom of receptacle. You should find that one half of outlet is always hot and one half is turned on and off by existing switch. Hope this makes sense, if not post back.
 
  #9  
Old 09-28-14, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The existing switch controls one wall outlet. It controls only the bottom of the outlet. As you suggested the top is always on (hot).
 
  #10  
Old 09-28-14, 01:21 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK,
That's good. Right hand switch doesn't need touched.
There was a mistake made in your existing wiring. You should never have had a "constant" hot black wire at your ceiling box. I'll post what I think needs to be done separately.
 
  #11  
Old 09-28-14, 01:49 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will be adding a switch at left to control light.
Cap off red at both switch box and ceiling box, you won't be using it.
Pay close attention to cable that red is in (going to ceiling)

The bundle of blacks:
Remove wire nut and remove black wire that goes to ceiling (same cable as abandoned red)
This wire will go to one terminal of new switch, doesn't matter which one.
reconnect black bundle as was, keeping pigtail. This pigtail will connect to remaining switch terminal.
Light should switch via black wire.
 
  #12  
Old 09-28-14, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will try this right now but just to clarify, I will have two black wires (one pigtail from black bundle) (one from same cable as abandoned red) going to switch, correct?

Then once switch is installed connect the light fixture to the black and white wires from ceiling?
 
  #13  
Old 09-28-14, 02:17 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes to all.
Here's why:

The black bundle is supplying power. For some reason, power was supplied directly to ceiling via "black bundle".
Now you are correcting this by supplying the same power to ceiling via black bundle, only this time interrupting it by a switch.

I'm trouble shooting this remotely and it's hard to be 100%. But this is the only way I can see this was intended to be wired.
 
  #14  
Old 09-28-14, 03:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
By god that did it! Thank you very much for the help. I can honestly say it would have taken me a lot longer to find a solution (if ever) without your help. I don't know how to thank you. Let me know if there is anything I can do for you. My trade is financial planning and investments just in case you need any help in that arena.

Just remarkable!

Best Regards,
Phillip
 
  #15  
Old 09-28-14, 03:30 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good Job!
I should have invested in Microsoft back when I thought a memory typewriter was more useful than a computer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: