Flourescent lights dim after ballast replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-14, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flourescent lights dim after ballast replacement

I changed the T12 ballast out after it started flickering. With the new T12 ballast, the lights are significantly dimmer. When I changed the ballast, I joined the old wires with wire nuts. Is this ok? Is it just a bad ballast that I got?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-14, 06:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Was it the correct ballast? Not just any ballast will work. It must be for the bulbs your fixture uses.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-14, 06:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think so. The old one says T12 and so does the new one.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-14, 06:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, T-12 isn't enough you must match the length or amp of your bulbs and the number of bulbs. It will say something like T12 2 tube 4 foot with actual description matching your fixture.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-14, 07:56 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,810
Received 194 Votes on 180 Posts
Yea, T12 primarily describes the diameter (1 1/2") of the bulb and the pin arrangement on the end. T12's are available in 15-125 watts so you need to look at more than just the T12.
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-14, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I went and took the old ballast and they gave me the same one, but said to try changing the bulbs.
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-14, 12:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you are going to replace the bulbs you might just want to convert the light to T8. T12 bulbs and fixtures are being phased out. A T8 will fit a T12 socket but the ballast and wiring will need to be changed.
 
  #8  
Old 09-29-14, 02:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I may do that since it's about the same price.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: