Photocell for outdoor lights broken - always on

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-14, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Photocell for outdoor lights broken - always on

My outdoor lights are controlled by a photo sensor attached to the bottom of the outdoor breaker panel. The lights are always on. That is especially becoming a problem now, because I'm using those lights to power the strings of LED lights I put on the roof for Halloween and Christmas decorations. Can someone help out with how to replace this unit and where/what kind to replace it with?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-14, 05:50 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Most electrical supply houses and some box stores will carry compatible photocell units. It is a matter of taking a picture of the wiring inside the panel and removing the power to it. Remove the wiring and unit, replacing with one of the same features and rewiring it according to the picture you took on your phone. Restore power and give it a little time to work.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-14, 06:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Some photocells don't like to be used upside down and leak water internally.
One like shown below works good upside down. You should be able to find this style at the big box stores or an electrical supply house.

Name:  photocell 1.jpg
Views: 1009
Size:  3.4 KB
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-14, 03:06 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Another style allows for you to meter the amount of light it allows into the photocell. Helpful in areas with too high light, or reflected light.

Name:  photocell.jpg
Views: 1321
Size:  11.8 KB
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-14, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks a lot like this one, just a slightly more compact design...and it IS mounted hanging from the bottom of the box. So pretty straight-forward, huh? Only drawback is having to turn off power to the whole house while I do the replacement.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-14, 02:45 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Why the whole house? Just turn the power off to that particular circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-14, 07:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
You should find the photocell connected with three wires..... red, black and white. There should be splices within 6" of the cell. If you follow the black wire - it should connect to a breaker. Turn that breaker off.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: