Odd Light fixture problem...need help.

Old 10-09-14, 09:47 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Odd Light fixture problem...need help.

I am not an electrician. I have installed plenty of electrical appliances. Just for background, I have installed a dishwasher, 4 ceiling fans, 2 vanity bathroom light fixtures, 2 semi-flush mount lights, a chandelier and have replaced fuses in my box. And I have been replacing all the plumbing fixtures. Long story short, I am not a babe in the woods. And of course I switch off the main while working on all this. The lights in question work off of a 15 (volt/amp?) breaker. So I could just switch that breaker to work on the lights. I still turn off the main, to be safe.

I was replacing all of my downstairs flush mount fixtures. I got the same wattage equivalent (except in CFL). I replaced three, fine. Two are on the same switch (no problems) and one is on the same switch as three other lights (spanning three floors). No problems with the prior two setups. The last light downstairs is giving me grief. It's simple black to black, red to red (or white) and ground to ground, just like all the others.

This is the issue. I installed this particular flush mount and when I flip the switch, it trips the breaker (15). Odd thing is that the poles on the light switch that services that light seems to have switched. Off is on and on is off. I am 99% sure I hooked it back up right. The 1% doubt is because it doesn't work. The only difference in the wiring that I can see, is that there is a four strand wire in the mix. I dont know what it is called (I'll call it the control wire for lack of a better term) and it is hooked up hot to hot. It's not the fixture as I bought a smaller one thinking I was overloading the circuit. Could it be the light switch itself from the first time the fuse blew???