switch for Broan QT130LE


  #1  
Old 10-11-14, 07:34 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
switch for Broan QT130LE

Thanks in advance for any advice...

I am installing a Broan QT130LE fan/light/nightlight.

I have a single gang switch right now at the bathroom door. This switch currently controls the existing ceiling light (that will be replaced by the new light) and the vanity mirror light.

What would be my switch options to run the fan on a timer, the ceiling light, nightlight and then also the vanity? I suppose I will need a two-gang box with one switch solely for the fan and then use a separate Broan three-function switch for the ceiling light, nightlight and vanity/

I really don't need the nightlight option of this new light, so I suppose I could just not wire that.

How reliable are those switches that operate on a humidistat?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-14, 08:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,707
Received 4,104 Upvotes on 3,686 Posts
How reliable are those switches that operate on a humidistat?
Very reliable and just about useless.

If you want or need the fan on..... turn it on.
If you are afraid of leaving it on when leaving.... put a countdown timer on it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-14, 02:57 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJmax...I guess that was the actual question I was asking...if the switches actually switch on and off the fan when the humidity gets high.

I am thinking a timer in one box and a 3-function switch in the other box for the Broan light, Broan nightlight and the vanity lights. Does this sound like the best switching option for what I described earlier. Thanks in advance.
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-14, 03:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,707
Received 4,104 Upvotes on 3,686 Posts
Sounds like a good choice. You'll need to see how much room you available in the wall for expansion. You'll need at least another gang on that box or a second separate box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: