New Light Fixture and Switch problem


  #1  
Old 11-25-14, 06:51 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Light Fixture and Switch problem

Replaced a motion sensor light after the sensor failed on the old one. Prior to replacement, the indoor switch for the light worked fine. New fixture has the same 3 wires (white/black/green) as old. Replaced the fixture and now the switch has no control over the light. The switch is mid-stream on the circuit. The wiring from the switch is black/white/red/ground. The wiring downstream from the light is black/white/ground.....can someone explain why the switch no longer controls the light?
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-14, 07:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The wiring from the switch is black/white/red/ground. The wiring downstream from the light is black/white/ground.
Is this a 3-way switch. It sounds like it. Is the 3-conductor cable the only cable in the switch box? If so and it is a 3-way circuit then the light is fed by the other switch.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-14, 10:04 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No, it is not a 3 way switch. This is the only switch to the fixture.
 
  #4  
Old 11-25-14, 10:56 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The switch has no control over light, but does the light illuminate the way you connected it?
Is there anything downstream from motion light that doesn't work?
 
  #5  
Old 11-25-14, 11:48 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No, the switch doesn't impact the light at all, and yes, the light is fully functional. Nothing downstream is affected in any way.
 
  #6  
Old 11-25-14, 12:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
No, it is not a 3 way switch
but you wrote:
The wiring from the switch is black/white/red/ground.
Ignoring the ground which isn't relevant how do you have 3 wires on the switch?
 
  #7  
Old 11-25-14, 12:19 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You'll need to pull out the switch, don't disconnect the wires, just describe what's all in the box and what wires are connected to switch terminals.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: