updating lighting to track lighting 2 switches 1 light. Light wont work


  #1  
Old 12-20-14, 05:27 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
updating lighting to track lighting 2 switches 1 light. Light wont work

So I bought new track lighting. Saw how former light was hooked up and hooked up new track lighting the same way. It does not work. I took it all a part to make sure wires did not slip apart. They did not. All connections are solid. The track is hooked up the proper way as well. I even took track lighting down and put up old light and old light works fine.

So my guess is track lighting doesn't work or is there some reason that updating to the LED track lighting would make it not work? Would i need to update switches? I've put around 5 hours into this project that should have only taken one. Any thoughts would be good.
 
  #2  
Old 12-20-14, 05:47 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
Check to make sure the bulbholders are securely seated on the track. Also some heads also have switches on them. Check to make sure they are on.

The switches should not need to be changed for the new track. Are they dimmers by any chance?
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-14, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,941
Received 4,144 Upvotes on 3,722 Posts
Just to add info..... are the heads the same brand as the track ?
Many heads and tracks are not interchangeable.

What brand are you using ?
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-14, 06:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
All brand new out of the box. Heads match. It is called Patriot Lighting 9ft. flexible track light system.

Double checked heads and there is no switch to turn them on.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-14, 06:21 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sooo yeah just went and "wiggled" the lights. they are just not seated well and will have to do some tinkering but they should work.... wow feel like an idiot. I know i wiggled them before. At least I know my wiring was right.

Thanks for help all, hope I can repay the favor when someone else needs it.
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-14, 05:46 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,099
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hopefully you don't need to do to much wiggling,or something may still not be right.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-14, 09:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,941
Received 4,144 Upvotes on 3,722 Posts
Good luck

You didn't mention this was a low voltage flex track system in the beginning. These systems can try your patience. The Patriot systems are known for transformer failures so keep your receipt handy.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-21-14 at 09:55 AM. Reason: typo
  #8  
Old 12-21-14, 09:52 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
If the connections are loose it will heat up. I might look for a better system.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: