The infamous mysterious third switch

Old 12-22-14, 03:25 PM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The infamous mysterious third switch

Good evening everyone. I am quite sure this has been addressed but am here to ask for the guru's help. I am an Aircraft Technician so am aware of the basics of electricity. Right now I have 3 switches. 1 controls the ceiling fan, another controls the light kit to the ceiling fan. The third controls..... The configuration of the first two switches mentioned above are the standard white/black ground configuration. When I hook my multimeter up to them they work as they should. The third switch has a red wire going to it with a black and ground. This red wire makes the switch a constant hot. No matter what position the switch is in, I still have voltage. Thinking that perhaps this switch went to an outlet, I disconnected it from the switch and checked all my outlets. They still work. I am assuming I am going to need to pull power off the wall and see where the white wire is spliced in. (It's a rat's nest back there).
My original reasoning for going in to the switch box was that I wanted to add an additional outlet in the room and have it controlled by that switch. Obviously if I was to wire in an outlet to that switch as it is currently configured then is it safe to assume that the switch would have no bearing on power going to and from the outlet due to the red wire attached. I felt comfortable doing this job and the red wire threw a monkey wrench in to the plan. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Old 12-22-14, 03:30 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
White/black/ground is not a typical switch configuration and would indicate a switch loop.

There is just the one black and the one red on the third switch? Disconnect both and you should find only one of them is hot.

Old 12-22-14, 03:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts