New Kitchen Light Fixture


  #1  
Old 01-07-15, 06:55 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Kitchen Light Fixture

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 533
Size:  29.7 KBI

I am currently redoing my kitchen, and that includes new light fixtures. I removed an old fixture and found there were two white wires used to connect it. Any idea how to reconnect to the new fixture? Also, when I tested the wires, there seemed to be no power.

Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 01-07-15, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,746
Received 4,116 Upvotes on 3,696 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your old light was connected to just those two white wires and the red and blacks were untouched ?
Is that light controlled by a pair of three way switches ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-15, 08:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Any idea how to reconnect to the new fixture?
If the old one worked so should the new one connected the same way.
there seemed to be no power.
Was that with the switch on? If you used a non contact tester the result is meaningless.

As to why you have two you have two white wires I suspect a switch loop wired non conventionally. Do you have a black (or red) and white wire on the switch?

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1334
Size:  29.4 KB

Edit: Disregard post if it is a 3-way.
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-15, 08:47 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is three way, how does this change things?
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-15, 10:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Does the new light work when connected?
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-15, 01:02 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I haven't hooked it up yet
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: